Postcard Illustration and Inktober

Inktober has arrived! If you’ve not heard of it, check it out here. It’s a great idea – draw an ink drawing every day for October. Sounds fairly easy but in previous attempts I usually forget and before I know it November has arrived and all I’ve drawn is a stick man dancing on a post-it note at work.  So in telling you guys I’m hoping I’ll trick my brain into thinking people expect it of me, people who will shame me in the comments if I don’t post the full inky 31 by the end of the month.

To start, here is ‘Inktober the first’, with the promise of more to come.

©Gemma Bergomi 2016

If you are getting involved, I’d love to pop over to your blog and see what you are up to so let me know in the comments. Likewise if you have any ideas for possible drawings let me know and I’ll give them a go, unless they are absolutely obscene.
Just a tip, if you get stuck on what to draw, try this list of challenges from Everyday Matters: https://dannygregorysblog.com/community/edm-challenges/

In other news, as mentioned last week, I was given the brief to design a postcard (back and front) linked with something you did during the summer holiday. Obviously I picked Japan – I figure that if I can’t draw something from my time in Japan then I might as well give up my course and just sit at home watching Friday Night Lights. Which I would do if Netflix hadn’t taken it from me * sobs *

…Anyway, after a bit of brainstorming, I decided to go for the classic Japanese experience of ‘this food is not what I thought it was’ in the form of ‘I bought a bright red octopus on a stick and it had a whole egg stuffed up it’.
Here are a few step by step photos including some planning notes, with the final product at the end. Let me know what you think!
©Gemma Bergomi 2016
Octopus planning. Very important to plan your octopuses
©Gemma Bergomi 2016
More octopus planning because, like I said, its important.
©Gemma Bergomi 2016
The back of the postcard featuring dancing octopus and eggs.
©Gemma Bergomi 2016
The front of the postcard. The symbol on the top left is kanji for egg, so the internet tells me.

Gemma

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Might have missed the boat for Inktober this year – will check it out. And hey, love that octopi series for the back of your postcard 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! They were really fun to draw.

      You could always go for an epic once-a-week-inktober? I think chipping in with something, even if it’s not everyday is fine. As long as you use a pen/ink 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

